Calendar

< 2021 >
November 28 - December 04
  • 28
    28.November.Sunday
    No events
  • 29
    29.November.Monday

    The Role of Municipalities in Promoting the Renovation Wave

    10:00 -11:00
    2021.11.29

    Date & Time: 29th November (Mon), 10:00 – 11:00 am (CET) / 18:00-19:00 (JST)

    This webinar will be held as a “Thematic Track 5 (TT5) “ of ISAP2021 which is organised by the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies (IGES).

    Website of ISAP2021:https://isap.iges.or.jp/2021/jp/index.html

    Registration:https://form.iges.or.jp/webapp/form/11205_zoq_402/index.do?_ga=2.97500191.1236293257.1635726388-1052567314.1597197804

    English-Japanese interpretation will be available via Zoom.

     

    For cities to meet the challenge of reaching carbon neutrality by 2050, one policy pillar is to promote
    a renovation wave in buildings, which the EU sees as a priority of its Green Deal. The EU is known for
    its holistic approach to buildings and under the post covid-19 era, new policy instruments are being
    introduced to help buildings decarbonise, integrate renewables, promote resource efficiency and
    circularity. Meanwhile, Japan’s Premier has declared that Japan would realise carbon-neutrality by
    2050, and a roadmap announced in June addresses building energy efficiency as a crucial
    component. Widespread decarbonisation of buildings is still a challenge, but we see more
    examples in both EU and Japan.

     

    TimeProgramme
    10:00 CET (18:00 JST)Opening Remarks and background to the webinar

    Prof. Hidefumi Imura, IURC Asia-Australasia, Key Expert for Japan

     

    Group Photo Session

     

    10:05 CET (18:05 JST)

     

    Setting the scene: EU’s policy on “Renovation Wave” and the role of municipalities

    Dr. Paolo Bertoldi, Senior Expert, Joint Research Center of the

    EU Commission

     

    10:15 CET (18:15 JST)

     

    City Panel

    ·        Mr. Jon Gastanares (Head) and Mr. Iker Mardaras Larrañaga (architect), Energy Efficiency Section, the City of Donostia-San Sebastián, Spain

    ·        Mr. Masayuki Fujita, Environmental Policy Department, Kyoto City Government, Japan

    ·        Ms. Brigitte Köhnlein, Deputy Head, Department of Federal, European and International Affairs, Ministry for Environment, Climate, Energy and Agriculture, Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg

     

    Moderator: Dr. Ryoko Nakano, IURC Asia & Australasia, Japan

     

    10:40 CET (18:40 JST)

     

    Discussions

     

    10:55 CET (18:55 JST

     

    Summary, next steps and closing remarks

    ·        Mr. Pablo Gandara, Team Leader, IURC Asia-Australasia

     

    11:00 CET (19:00 JST)

     

    Closure of meeting

     

     

  • 30
    30.November.Tuesday

    Launch of EU-Australian Cities Cooperation

    08:00 -09:30
    2021.11.30

    In the context of the IURC project, the city coordinators for the selected European and Australian pilot cities are invited to join an online launch of the EU-Australian cities cooperation on Tuesday, 30 November 2021, at 08:00-09:30 CET / 18:00-19:30 Canberra time).

    Agenda

    Moderation: Prof. Bruce Wilson, EU Centre of Excellence, RMIT, Melbourne and IURC Australasia Helpdesk Coordinator

    • Welcoming by EUD: H.E. Dr. Michael Pulch, EU Ambassador to Australia (5 min)

    • Introduction to international city-to-city cooperation by Dr. Ronald Hall, Senior Advisor, DG REGIO, EU Commission (10 min)

    • Presentation round of the pilot cities (35 min)

    a. EU cities (Barcelona, Florence, Hamburg, Madrid) – 5 min each city
    b. Australian cities (Brisbane, Canberra, Melbourne) – 5 min each city

    • Feedback from the IURC Project Team (10 min)

    a. Australia coordinator on the cities’ presentations: Prof. Bruce Wilson
    b. IURC Team Coordinator on pathways for cooperation: Pablo Gándara

    • Open discussion on possible topics of cooperation (20 min)

    • Next steps and closing: (10 min)

  • 01
    01.December.Wednesday
    No events
  • 02
    02.December.Thursday
    No events
  • 03
    03.December.Friday
    No events
  • 04
    04.December.Saturday
    No events