The Role of Municipalities in Promoting the Renovation Wave

Webinar


2021-11-29 10:00 - 11:00

 



View Calendar



2021-11-29 10:00 - 11:00

Date & Time: 29th November (Mon), 10:00 – 11:00 am (CET) / 18:00-19:00 (JST)

This webinar will be held as a “Thematic Track 5 (TT5) “ of ISAP2021 which is organised by the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies (IGES).

Website of ISAP2021:https://isap.iges.or.jp/2021/jp/index.html

Registration:https://form.iges.or.jp/webapp/form/11205_zoq_402/index.do?_ga=2.97500191.1236293257.1635726388-1052567314.1597197804

English-Japanese interpretation will be available via Zoom.

 

For cities to meet the challenge of reaching carbon neutrality by 2050, one policy pillar is to promote
a renovation wave in buildings, which the EU sees as a priority of its Green Deal. The EU is known for
its holistic approach to buildings and under the post covid-19 era, new policy instruments are being
introduced to help buildings decarbonise, integrate renewables, promote resource efficiency and
circularity. Meanwhile, Japan’s Premier has declared that Japan would realise carbon-neutrality by
2050, and a roadmap announced in June addresses building energy efficiency as a crucial
component. Widespread decarbonisation of buildings is still a challenge, but we see more
examples in both EU and Japan.

 

Time Programme
10:00 CET (18:00 JST) Opening Remarks and background to the webinar

Prof. Hidefumi Imura, IURC Asia-Australasia, Key Expert for Japan

 

Group Photo Session

 

10:05 CET (18:05 JST)

 

Setting the scene: EU’s policy on “Renovation Wave” and the role of municipalities

Dr. Paolo Bertoldi, Senior Expert, Joint Research Center of the

EU Commission

 

10:15 CET (18:15 JST)

 

City Panel

·        Mr. Jon Gastanares (Head) and Mr. Iker Mardaras Larrañaga (architect), Energy Efficiency Section, the City of Donostia-San Sebastián, Spain

·        Mr. Masayuki Fujita, Environmental Policy Department, Kyoto City Government, Japan

·        Ms. Brigitte Köhnlein, Deputy Head, Department of Federal, European and International Affairs, Ministry for Environment, Climate, Energy and Agriculture, Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg

 

Moderator: Dr. Ryoko Nakano, IURC Asia & Australasia, Japan

 

10:40 CET (18:40 JST)

 

Discussions

 

10:55 CET (18:55 JST

 

Summary, next steps and closing remarks

·        Mr. Pablo Gandara, Team Leader, IURC Asia-Australasia

 

11:00 CET (19:00 JST)

 

Closure of meeting